WARNING: DANCE MOMS!

How does the typical dancer first start out? Most would say that their mom got them into ballet classes at a young age and maybe pre jazz and tap as well. I know that my mom wanted to get me involved in as many different activities when I was younger so that I would eventually decide what I wanted to stick with. I played soccer, t-ball, softball, and volleyball all while I was also dancing, and in the end we all know what I chose. But that’s the point! I was the one to make the decision, not my mom or anyone else, it was me. Some children don’t have the opportunity to choose because their parents make them or persuade them into doing something they want their child to succeed at. If you have ever heard the term “living through your kids” I believe that the reality show Dance Moms is a perfect representation.

After watching a few episodes of this show and having been a competition dancer myself I am so thankful that my mother never got involved in my dancing. After a certain point when she realized that I was old enough to handle my own schedule and all the various aspects of the competitive dance world she let me take control of what I wanted to do and truly love doing. She knew that if I really wanted to be a dancer then I needed to be mature enough to handle myself and all the drama of the dance world without her, plus she was a professional beach volleyball player and she really couldn’t stand the cattiness of all the other dance moms.

If you haven’t seen the show, I recommend watching a few episodes so you can realize what not to do when you have children and all you want to do is use them and live through them. Of course it is reality TV so there is going to be drama, but the drama on this show occurs between the young dancers’ (about 8-13 years old) moms and their choreographer/teacher/studio owner/ supreme control freak. These girls are really great dancers. They are always rehearsing, learning new choreography, and then traveling to different states to compete. Their mothers sit and watch every rehearsal and are by their daughter’s side as if they themselves were the dancer. These women are mental. They don’t even take into consideration if their daughter likes dancing! One of the dancers on the show, Chloe, told her mother, “I don’t want to dance anymore”. The mother responded by saying, “Oh hunny your just tired”. I couldn’t believe that I heard her say that. When your daughter is sitting in front of you crying and saying she doesn’t want to dance anymore you should be a good parent and not force dancing down her throat. I’m not saying that all dance moms are like this but some do act like this to an extent. Just a little advice, if you don’t enjoy doing something- don’t do it. You are wasting your time when you could be doing something that you truly love, and if someone is standing in your way (cough cough moms) then tell them what’s on your mind and they will probably listen to you.

Dance requires a certain passion and dedication and if you are lacking in either of those then you shouldn’t be a dancer because you are practically tearing your body apart for no reason. Think about what you really want to get out of your life and go after it, don’t be hiding in the dark letting other people make your dreams for you.

2 thoughts on “WARNING: DANCE MOMS!

  1. I completely agree with you. Just like you, my parents tried to put me in as many activities as a little girl. Although they tried to be supportive with my particular interests, they would always direct me towards the path of my sister–a dance lover. Despite my love of dancing in the beginning, it wasn’t until my parents started to push me harder that allowed me to understand how the daughters in “Dance Moms” felt. Now that I think of it, this is a perfect example of how feminism can be implemented in a society. Even though peer pressures would be trying to push young woman , such as the girls in this reality show, it is up to feminism to help us divert those social expectations from our path of choice.

Leave a Reply

